Welcome to Governance at Barnfield College

At Barnfield College our students are at the heart of everything we do.  Our goal is to ensure they have the skills, knowledge and opportunities to become successful in whatever they choose.  Central to this is developing a clear understanding of the expectations of employers across our region.

The Barnfield College Corporation is a non-executive Board of Governors who collectively oversee all the activities of the College and steer its future direction.  The Board meets regularly to monitor the College’s performance and make decisions on strategy, policy and finance, whilst also maintaining a keen focus on the learning experience of students. There is no one particular qualification or type of person required to be a Governor of Barnfield College; governors are drawn from a wide range of backgrounds and bring many different skills, qualities and experiences.  However, all share a passion for high quality education and training, wish to serve the needs of local learners, employers and the community and ensure all who access the College may be successful and progress to purposeful employment or further study.

Our college Governors

Collectively the Members of the Corporation are responsible for:

  • the determination of the educational character and mission of the institution and oversight of its activities;
  • the effective and efficient use of resources, the solvency of the institution and the Corporation and for safeguarding the College’s assets;
  • approving annual estimates of income and expenditure;
  • the appointment, grading, suspension, dismissal and determination of the pay and conditions of service of the holders of senior posts and setting a framework for the pay and conditions of service of all other staff.

In the interests of openness and accountability, Corporation documents and meeting minutes are published on this website.

Independent Members:

Chair – Peter Hill

Vice Chairs – Alex Bain-Stewart and Gavin O’Brien

Chair Audit Committee – Trevor Warrs

Chair Capital Project and Estates Task Group – Peter Hill

Chair Curriculum, Quality and Standards Committee – Louise Ellis

Chair Governance Development Task Group – Alex Bain-Stewart

Designated Safeguarding Governor – Paul Seath

Interim Principal – Martin Sim

Staff Governor – Elaine Battams

Student Governor – Imrane Sarrouj

Student Governor – Ayotunde Efunkoya

Nick Barrett

Marc Hulbert

Our Chair of the Governing Body, Peter Hill, can be contacted c/o Barnfield College, New Bedford Road Campus, Luton, Bedfordshire, LU2 7BF.

For more information, you can download a copy of the Board and Committee Membership here.

If you wish to view our Register of Interests form please contact The Clerk to the Corporation c/o Barnfield College, New Bedford Road Campus, Luton, Bedfordshire, LU2 7BF.

You can view the Approved Board Calendar for 2017-18 online.

If you are interested in the role of Governor or wish to know more, please contact the Clerk to the Corporation on 01582 569 834.

Applying to be a Governor

Code of Conduct

Further documentation

Structure Prospect Appraisal Steering Group Terms of Reference

Instrument and Articles of Government – September 2015

Audit Committee Terms of Reference

Capital Projects and Estates Task Group Terms of Reference

Curriculum, Quality and Standards Committee Terms of Reference

Procedures for Obtaining Views of Staff and Students